Proper way to disable a Real Server

0

Hi all, 

 

I created a virtual services (HTTP/HTTPS) in Layer 7 with two real servers enabled.   Sometimes, I like to disable one of them to take it down for update.  Yet when I disable it on Real Server A, I still find users connected to Real Server A.    What is the proper way to disable a Real Server so that users are disconnected?

Appreciate the help,

Douglas 

1 comment

Avatar
0
Mark Deegan

hello Douglas,

 

To gracefully shutdown a real server and take it out of rotation we allow connections up to the point of "drain time end". This can be configured under L 7 options on your LM. The default is 300 seconds but you can modify this if required. this gives users time to complete their work before the real server is disconnected. please see attached screenshot.

regards

 

Mark